WPB area - looking for resources

West Palm to Jacksonville
jbdba01
Mr. Fishing Reports
Mr. Fishing Reports

WPB area - looking for resources

Post by jbdba01 »

I may be spending some additional time on this side of FL and am starting my research on fishing the Palm Beach side of things. Technically I'm in Wellington - about 15 miles from the ocean.

So far the resources I've found are mainly fish the docks at night and beach fishing. Something as an East Coast newbie I'm hesitant to do (I do 90% of my fishing solo). I hear fishing the inlets is good, but you better know what you're getting into.

I'm quasi open to hiring a guide to minimize the learning curve.

Any resources (websites, clubs...) would be appreciated.

Targeting snook/poon - could see doing offshore (sailfish/dolphin) in a stinkpot, but that's a whole nother ballgame.
JB
krash
Supporter 2010 - 2014
Supporter 2010 - 2014

Re: WPB area - looking for resources

Post by krash »

You got a few choices.. all require driving. (Since this is paddling site assume you have paddle craft)
WPB are around Peanut Island, but there are not a lot of fishing reports that come from there. If you hire a guide, contact (search for) PalmBeachPete hes the local fishing hero of that area.

1) Head North, starting around Stuart/Jensen Beach causeway you'll find the Indian River very fishable by kayak with many free side of the road launch areas, all the way up to Round Island right near Ft. Pierce & Vero line on A1A

2) Head SW to Choko.. great fishery, couple good private owned/operated $$ launch sites OR/CIP or Ranger station free, with fish within a few hundred yards, and more miles of oyster bedds and mangrove shorelines to paddle that you can imagine