2010-2011 Top Five Conversation - Chris Ravelo

Heywood

2010-2011 Top Five Conversation - Chris Ravelo

Post by Heywood »

2010-2011 Top Five Conversation – Chris Ravelo

First of all, Thanks to all of the top five that contributed. Second, I apologize for any typos and picture quality. After 8 hours of driving, its a wonder I can see at all. I always like to finish something I started.

Chris’s 2010-2011 Highlights – 3rd Place Slam, Dynamic Duo. 2nd Place Trout, Tackle Box. 1st Place Slam, Erick Bell Memorial. 3rd Place Trout, My Lure is better than Your Lure. Chris finished in 1st place with 283 points.

How long have you been kayak fishing, what type of kayak do you fish out of?

I have been fishing from a kayak for about 5 years now. I started with traditional sit on top kayaks, but am currently using the Native Ultimate hybrid canoe/kayak. A majority of my kayak fishing is inshore saltwater pursuing the big three, but I do some freshwater fishing as well.

What type of equipment do you normally use? Rod, Reel, Line, Leader.

I fish with 3 spinning rods. All three are spooled with green 10 lb Power Pro. Each reel is capable of holding a bit more than 100 yards of braid with a few wraps of 8lb mono as backing on the base of the spool. My choice for leader is 15-30 lb Seaguar fluorocarbon. Almost exclusively, I attach the leader to the line with a uni-to-uni knot, and the leader to the hook using a Canoeman’s loop.

Uni Knot
http://www.fish4fun.com/Joining2Lines.htm

Canoeman Loop Knot

7’ Medium Light TFO Gary Loomis Signature Series paired with a Quantum Cabo 20. Although TFO considers this rod to be fast action, it has the most moderate action of any of my rods. I use this rod mostly for throwing spoons, but will also pair it with soft plastics if I am not planning on using an erratic retrieve. I will also use this rod to soak cut bait on occasion.